About us

The Council

The core, voting membership of the Huron Stewardship Council is comprised of Huron County community members with diverse community interests and assorted key backgrounds including: agriculture, forestry, naturalist, angling/hunting, other recreational groups, and industry. When needed, new members are selected through a public recruitment and application process. Other community members are drawn in to participate on committees, or as part of various initiatives. When needed, representation is requested from key resource agencies, such as Conservation Authorities and provincial ministries, in a technical, advisory role.

Jennette Walker


Jennette works in environmental consulting and has involvement in many resource-related organizations and initiatives, generally focused on water protection.

Klaus Seeger

Vice Chair

Klaus recently retired from 39 years in environmental public health, former Chair of the Environmental Health Foundation of Canada, involvement in many resource-related organizations and initiatives.

Marg Kroes


Marg is a swine and cash crop farmer with membership and active involvement in a number of community, resource related and agricultural organizations and initiatives.

Donna Taylor


Donna is a former chair of the stewardship council, a retired private business owner, rural landowner, and active community leader with a keen interest in natural heritage topics.

Amy Lejcar


Amy Lejcar is a Landscape Architect and Arborist who has been on the council since 2018. She is interested in preserving and enhancing the natural features in Huron County that make it unique.

Dave Frayne


Dave is an agricultural producer, former South Huron Deputy Mayor, and former Municipal Councillor. He is involved in a number of community and resource-related organizations and initiatives such as drinking water source protection, new crop production methods, and conservation.

Tom Trick


Tom is a beef and cash crop farmer and woodlot owner with active involvement in community, resource-related and agricultural organizations. Active in the operations of the Trick’s Creek Farm (1873), which has an original flour mill and dam, sawmill, and managed woodlot.

Cristen Watt


Cristen has a Masters in wildlife ecology from Trent University, and is interested in wildlife conservation and research. She is formerly the HSC's Species at Risk Field Coordinator, having lead the Queensnake and turtle recovery projects for 4 years. Cristen continues to contribute to these projects as a Director of the HSC.


Sheldon Paul

Fieldwork Coordinator


Wesley Small

Species at Risk Volunteer

Former Council Members

Jim Ginn, John Haak, Myles Murdock, Brianne Webber, Bob Smyth, David Perrie, Robert Budd, Wayne Caldwell, Jeff Cardiff, Susan Chan, Susan Hay, Kathy Hodgins, Chris Lee, Carol Leeming, Don Lobb, Andrew Mann, Matt Pearson, Tom Pollard, Evert Ridder, Victor Roland, John Schwindt, Wayne Stewart, George Thompson, Rowena Wallace, Bill Creighton, Ian Koetsier. Darlene McCowan